Our People


David Neil

Auckland Operational Support had never had a Patron. 75 years seemed a long time to be without one so it was decided to look for a suitable person to fill the role, an appointment which would be made during 2008, to tie in as part of the Unit's 75th anniversary celebrations. Thus at the 75th Annual General Meeting Chief Fire Officer Jim Smith announced the unanimous election of the Unit's inaugural Patron.

David Neil

Until his recent retirement David Neil was for many years a senior executive officer with the New Zealand Fire Service in Auckland during which time he was a keen supporter of the Unit. He accepted the Unit's invitation to be its Patron and was installed to the position on 15th September 2008.

Current Members


Unit Photo

Auckland Operational Support


This photo was taken to mark the changeover from Fire Police to Operational Support: this is the last group picture showing members of the Auckland Volunteer Fire Police Unit which transformed to Auckland Operational Support on 29th October, 2011

Back Row:
A Muriwai - P Collis - K Stillwell - D Serjeant - K Hanisi - M Foster - T Dickinson - S Taylor - J McNickle - N Tainui - J Sadler

3rd Row:
T Cooke - M Potter - J Kerr - W Reece - H Kyle - G Flutey - A Grossart - G Towers - W Turner - R Kuysten M Walker - R Clifford

2nd Row:
R Lawrence - A McVeigh - I Batterbee - F Neil - H Chisnall - S McLean - R Allen - M Biesheuvel - P Mason-Riseborough - N Hohaia - L Nola - P Halverson - A Sachtleben

Front Row:
J Watson - SO A Galloway - SO R Cuthbert - SO C England - SO J Smith - SSO L Day - SSO R Bay - CFO G Teal - DCFO R Carlyon - SSO A Officer - SO P Duncan - SO K Ashton - SO D Carnell - F Knight

SO L Wright - P Robinson - D Rosario - D Scott - J Sexton - S Williams